RSS Feed

A Study in Plaid

From contributor: PAYTON– Payton.kennedy [at] gmail [dot] com

I was at the Elmdale Tavern this weekend for The Fiftymen. Great show … and great style! I didn’t notice until looking at the shots at the end of the evening that all of my subjects were wearing plaid. Expected at alt-country/rock show I suppose but I love how they all wore it in their own unique way, and as comfortably as well … an old, plaid shirt.

jake

Who? Jake
Occupation: Drummer for The Fiftymen, Guitarist for Jim Bryson, proud new daddy of “Ramona”
Where’d you get that? My hat is probably from Ragtime Vintage … I own a few; I’m a hat-guy
Who’s your style icon? Rick Danko, circa 1967
What are you listening to these days? Notwist and Marc Ford
What’s your favourite thing about Ottawa? My family

megan
Who?
Megan
Occupation: Librarian for the government
Where’d you get that? My dress is from H&M in the States, I bought my glasses in London, England
What’s your favourite thing about Ottawa? You know where everything is!
If you were an animal, what would you be? A dinosaur

melissa

Who? Melissa
Occupation: Cook at Café Fresh
Where’d you get that? I bought my shirt at Dynamite. Genevieve at La Spa cuts my hair
Who’s your style icon? Betty Page (Payton thinks a little Patsy Cline as well … Melissa agrees)
What are you listening to these days? The new Dolly Parton album, Matthew Barber, The Fiftymen
If you were an animal, what would you be? A bird … a Loon to be exact
What’s your favourite thing about Ottawa? Its small town vibe and big city feeling

Okay, not at the Elmdale and not in plaid, but look at his hair … fierce!

richard

Who? Richard
Occupation: Bartender/Manager, The Whalesbone
Where’d you get that hair? Pedro at Scizzors cuts my hair
Describe your style: Comfortable, clean, eco-friendly
What are you listening to these days? Cat Stevens, Neil Young, James Taylor
Your tombstone will say? No regrets!

Leave a Reply

