RSS Feed

Non, ce n’est pas magnifique.

As if American Vogue’s celebrity whoring isn’t enough (I thought In-Style was the celebrity style magazine?), Lancome has decided to use Anne Hathaway (of all people) in their new ad campaign. Out of all the celebrities out there, you couldn’t think of anyone else?

Okay, I know this was announced back in mid-June but I just saw the life sized poster of the Scam Artist Dating Princess Diaries star this afternoon. I just don’t like her. She pisses me off, a lot. She has a slight nerdy charm to her but I don’t find she exudes anything special. Plus, she’s one of those celebrities that gives her opinion on topics she clearly doesn’t understand (i.e. politics) and she dated an Italian scam artist but alledgedly “didn’t know” he was a scam artist. Right. How clueless can you be?

This brings me to my next comment: I just don’t understand fashion anymore. Models are working their butts off attending castings to grace the pages of fashion magazines for a reason. What do people who appreciate fashion (like me) get instead of models? Celebrities. Celebrities already get all the press and money, why take over a models job? First, celebrities cannot perfect posing like models can and they do not nearly look as good in the clothing. Second, it’s not like models are lining up to get cast as the female lead in the next Hollywood blockbuster – they know their place, so know yours, celebs. Ugh.

Let’s talk about one of the most notorious celebrity lovers –  Anna Wintour. Ms. Wintour continously uses celebrities on the cover of Vogue to sell magazines – even if the cover is absolutely terrible (September issue with Keira anyone?). She is also notorious for recycling content issue after issue and bringing us dull editorials featuring none other than those celebrities she so loves  (reference: October issue on newsstands now, Rachel Weisz cover girl and back to Sept issue with Keira). WHERE ARE ALL THE MODELS? Celebrities do not pose as well as models for these magazines, it’s not their job so stop it, please. Yes I enjoy repetition. Someone please remind Anna that she is the editor of a FASHION magazine and NOT a celebrity fashion and lifestyle magazine. If I wanted to read about Angelina’s latest outfit, I’d pick up an issue of People or US Weekly. Please, leave the celebrities where they belong and bring my models back.

Picture from: http://stylefrizz.com/200806/anne-hathaway-launches-lancome-magnifique/
9 responses »

  1. OTTAWASTREETSTYLE LADY I WANT TO SEE WHAT YOU WEAR

  2. I AM HENRY HOLLAND

    IT WOULD PROVIDE SOME CONTEXT TO YOUR WRITING

  3. Dear Henry Holland, you must see me in person to classify my style as it has no classification really. I don’t understand how my style would relate to my writing…I wouldn’t write about something I have no background in and I would not dare bash bad style if I had bad style myself, am I right? Unfortunately, I refuse to post pictures of myself online – no face shots. So I’ll give you hints: I don’t hide behind long hair, I have long legs but I am short, and my looks (ethnically) resemble those of my opposite. Quite the riddle. But, from reading this blog (I assume you are a reader), you do know I love denim and some of the places I’ve shopped at. I did once post a picture of my shoes and a few of my jeans. Maybe we’ve met before…are you in Ottawa?

  4. I don’t usually agree with very many of your opinion pieces but you really hit the nail dead on here. Enough with the goddamn celebrities trying to model.

  5. celebrities are so common looking – pretty, yes, but not interesting looking like many models are. some models are so interesting looking that i can’t decide if they are ugly or beautiful and that is what makes it so great to look at them. celebrities? they all look the same to me, and that is boring. and models can wear the shit out of clothes, celebrities look like well dressed mall rats.
    that’s all.

  6. celebs associated with your brand increase sales. thats the bottom line. it IS the fashion INDUSTRY afterall.

    95% of the population doesnt give a shit about masha, daria, irina or freja is. celebreities gracing your covers or wearing your clothes create soo much more hype and advertising than a awkard 18 year old model.

    this is why celebs are everywhere in fashion. celeberities also provide a (relatively) more realisitc body shape when it comes to wearing designer clothes. and honestly most celebrites that are the face of a brand/on a cover dress pretty well.

    if you really want to look at models in magazines you really shuoldnt be reading all the mainstream fashion magazines anyway. stick to V and that type of high art style mag.

  7. @Anonymous: It’s common knowledge that celebrities do mean sales however, what I am trying to say is that fashion is not about celebrities. Back in the day, models always graced the cover of most mainstream magazines and that’s the way it should be, just like when models used to monopolize fashion campaigns (and now it’s sort of coming back to that). I don’t read Vogue, the only Vogue I read are the publications from Russia, Australia, India, etc because the editorials are far more interesting. Magazines like Dazed and Confused, 10, V, Zink are much better in content for sure – I agree.

    Also, celebrities dress well because they have personal stylists – Wintour wouldn’t use one that is always gracing the pages of “what you should not wear”- that’s magazine sales suicide. Only few celebrities dress themselves and have great personal style. Models develop that style by working with so many different designers throughout their careers and it’s also mandatory to make great first impressions at castings so they are forced to develop some style.

    What I am saying is, if Wintour wants to Vogue to be a fashion magazine, then stick to the rules. Leave celebrities for In Style and People.

  8. Nice article. Let me introduce you to the online fashion magazine that I run. Its called Fashionora.com. Would you be interested to visit and leave your valuable comments

Leave a Reply

