RSS Feed

Bluesfest…Funk-A-Licious

Photobucket

I just went through the line-up on the Bluesfest website and I must say, I’m pretty disappointed. Bluesfest has become way too commercial and it’s a sad day in history when they must resort to bringing Akon and Fergie. I mean there are several commercial artists that I can stand but choosing these two? I’ve also noticed a lot of artists from last year coming back to play this year, which is cool in a way. A few are worthy of seeing. See below for some artists I would and wouldn’t see or just some general comments regarding the artists.

<!–[if !supportLists]–> <!–[endif]–>Canned Heat: This will always and forever be the name of a Jamiroquai song

<!–[if !supportLists]–> <!–[endif]–>Donna Summer: Love to Love you Baby is a good song. I love disco, I want to boogie like I’m in Studio 54. I might bring my poster of the moon with the cocaine spoon to this.

<!–[if !supportLists]–> <!–[endif]–>Feist: I miss her every time she is in town and I might go see her but I’m scared a bunch of teenagers who claim to be loyal fans will infest the crowd and prevent me from having a good time.

<!–[if !supportLists]–> <!–[endif]–>Fergie: WTF? She must’ve been a spelling bee champ in her days because her songs aren’t trademarked Fergie if she isn’t spelling something. It’s as if she has to consistently remind herself she can spell.

<!–[if !supportLists]–> <!–[endif]–>Jakob Dylan: I think he’s a total babe so I’ll totally go.

Photobucket

<!–[if !supportLists]–> <!–[endif]–>Hilotrons: Astroboy is a good song. These local boys have a good tune and the lead singer sweats like crazy, watch as he damages his wardrobe.

Photobucket

<!–[if !supportLists]–> <!–[endif]–>Jetplanes of Abraham: Another local band with a great sound.

Photobucket

<!–[if !supportLists]–> <!–[endif]–>Jose Gonzalez: Please tell me you heard his cover of Massive Attack’s Teardrop? There is nothing he can’t make sound so peaceful and serene.

Photobucket

<!–[if !supportLists]–> <!–[endif]–>Jason Collett: He makes himself too available, he’s played a concert at the University last year, Westfest and a few others, c’mon Jason just because you’re in Broken Social Scene doesn’t mean we want to see you solo every other month!

<!–[if !supportLists]–> <!–[endif]–>Ladytron: The only lady I enjoy is Ladyhawke thanks.

<!–[if !supportLists]–> <!–[endif]–>Martha Wainwright: Have you heard Set the Fire to the third bar? Her voice is unbelievable. And because she’s Rufus’ sister, he might make an appearance, I’m just saying.

<!–[if !supportLists]–> <!–[endif]–>Metric: I saw them last year and although those teenagers that I think will go check Feist out ruined most of it for me; I still had a great time. The best is when Emily Haines disappears for 5 minutes and pops back up. I love junkies.

Photobucket

<!–[if !supportLists]–> <!–[endif]–>Plain White T’s: Weren’t they a one hit wonder? Why are they here THIS year?

<!–[if !supportLists]–> <!–[endif]–>Sean Kingston: You’re way too annnoooooyyyyinnnnng BOY. Is this even music?

<!–[if !supportLists]–> <!–[endif]–>Sean Paul: Although his sound is outdated, he still makes you move with those dirty rhydms.

<!–[if !supportLists]–> <!–[endif]–>Stars: I love love love Amy Milan. I am not a fan of Torquil Campbell, but I still love Stars. The vivid imagery is haunting and beautiful. I want to direct their videos.

Photobucket

All photos from www.ottawabluesfest.ca
4 responses »

  1. I’m surprised you didn’t mention Tv on the Radio or The Weakerthans.

  2. yeah, i thought it would be way too lenghty if I included everyone I wanted to talk about!

  3. no no, go see feist+stars+metric !!!
    i’m working at bluesfest this summer & i’m definitely going to see at least one of those concerts.
    i’m really disappointed that i missed out on kanye west and bob dylan last year though.

    x.
    jessica

  4. I still have to pick up my tickets!

Leave a Reply

