RSS Feed

OSS feels Dizzee

Readers, Naj Peterson is a new contributor to Ottawa Street Style and below is his first submission! I apologize for the delay in posting this but unfortunately I have been overwhelmed with the recent fashion week happening here in Ottawa, so please forgive me

Ottawa fixed up and looked sharp as the ruling King of grime, Dizzee Rascal brought the hard streets of Bow, London to Capital City Music Hall.  Dizzee’s eclectic mix of synth beats, metal guitars and conventional rap attracted a diverse crowd unified by their appreciation for the kid with the thick cockney accent.  Rascal did not disappoint, pulverizing the mob with his machine gun delivery at 130 beats per minute for a whole hour.  Ground shaking bass combined with futuristic bleeps and unorthodox bloops induced the crowd into an arm-waving, head-bopping frenzy.  Dizzee’s fifteen song set-list told a variety stories; from stealing cars and robbing pizza delivery-men as a youth, to the ills of fame and money, and (on the lighter side) to simply looking fresh in a new pair of Nike’s.

Speaking of fresh, Ottawa’s finest came out looking it last night.  The theme of the night appeared to be bright colours and sick kicks, with retro neon sweatshirts and old skool high-tops being rocked to the fullest.  As an admitted sneaker-addict who was born in the early 80’s, I must admit I was felt right in my element.  Thanks to everyone who posed for me, I definitely felt the love.  Keep doing your thang Ottawa!

Najja Peterson, May 13, 2008
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

…it was quite the show, there was even a celebrity sighting…Sarah Jessica Parker fresh from the London premiere of Sex and the City showed up.

p.s. Did I say Sarah Jessica Parker? I meant scantily-clad, skank, who started a fight behind me, after pushing her way to the front so she could  make multiple crotch grab attempts at Dizzee. I handed her earring back to her after it flew off in the melee…I won’t lie I was laughing my ass off…she let me take her picture after the show when it looked liked Dizzee’s handlers were not gonna let her backstage.

One response »

  1. I just noticed Dizzee’s belt, that’s actually pretty cool. Surprised no one commented on the SJP look alike. It fooled me good but then you have to remember how much SJP dresses differently and you’re like “I can’t believe I just thought that was her!”

Leave a Reply

