RSS Feed

Red Lipstick journey – Adorit/Aurajan Boutique Fashion Show

The red lips are at it again! This time, Tracie, Helena (Youth League & the Spies bloggers) and I were at the Mercury Lounge for Adorit/Aurajan Boutique’s Spring-Summer ’08 fashion show. The show was a fundraiser for Tibetan Nomad to finish teacher’s college in Tibet.

I also believe I was overdressed for this evening. How do I know this? Well, as I was waiting for the youth leaguers, some girl starred at me and whispered to her friend, “I feel really under dressed for this!” Thanks lady, makes me feel better!

This was an excellent opportunity for me to recruit models and buyers while Helena and Tracie scouted potential designers for fashion week. Not much good shots in terms of unique individuals but I did my best to snap some shots of the clothing. The clothing, or most of it, is made out of 100% recycled materials. Meg Duffield, who has had her stuff showcased in Hot Flux Empire magazine, was one of the designers of the night. Her stuff is pretty nice but I won’t write a caption below her stuff because I don’t remember the other designers’ names! Meg is part of Ottawa Fashion Week and she’ll surely have some amazing stuff to showcase for that! We are having a shoot for her clothing at my place tomorrow so I might post some shots of that!

Results: Well the show was good, music was pumping, however, it was the same Ottawa stuff I’m tired of seeing and trying to change. 1) It was in a club, small, crammed, tiny runway 2) Backstage was extremely visible 3) Same modeling agency providing models mixed with friends and a friend of a friend who did some modeling 4) An MC who was saying the names of the models 5) Many designers packed into one. Although the British MC was letting the crowd know who the designer was, you forgot after the model left.

Photobucket

Bloggers to sisters – Tracizzle & crazyH from Youth League & the Spies

Photobucket

Oh the Spies!
Photobucket

The model with the crazy antics

Photobucket

She was a very nice model
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

I’m turning Japanese I think I’m turning Japanese I really think so!

Photobucket
I love this model, she was really pretty…totally recruited. HINT: this is one of Meg’s pieces!

Photobucket
He’s still turning Japanese.

Photobucket
Photobucket

Look of the night, hands down!
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
I really didn’t think the props were necessary. What was also unnecessary – excessive use of eyeliner on males during fashion shows! Some male models are “pretty” enough as it is, making them even more feminine is not cool!

Photobucket

I like this comment

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Red Lipstick journey - Adorit/Aurajan Boutique Fashion Show | Myth Night Lifestyle

  2. We think you summed it up perfectly!

    Thanks for the fun times on Saturday…

    T & H

Leave a Reply

